PC Senior Jaraczewski Earns Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year Honors

November 1, 2022
Senior Lili Jaraczewski was named the Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year, as announced by the league office on Saturday following the Big South Championship hosted by Longwood.

She became the first Blue Hose cross country student athlete to receive the honor in PC’s DI history in the league. It’s the first PC student-athlete to receive the honor from the league since men’s tennis had Nicholas McKinney receive the award last spring.

Jaraczewski is now a three-time honoree on the league’s all-academic team after earning Saturday’s honor.

She is a biochemistry major with a 4.0 GPA. Jaraczewski is also a SAAC rep for the Blue Hose.

Jaraczewski opened the season with a 21:14.5 at the Eye Opener in Spartanburg as she finished in 36th in the event. She continued her 2022 campaign with a 22:16.6 at UNF. The Blue Hose season continued with the PC senior posting a season-best 20:45 at the Queen City Invite before rounding out the season with a 21:38 at the Royals Challenge. The Blue Hose senior posted her career-best in a 5k at the spring 2021 Big South Championship with a 19:30.6.

Jaraczewski along with junior William Johnson earned All-Academic Team honors following Saturday’s championship.

Both men’s and women’s cross country academic teams are listed below.

2022 Men’s Cross Country All-Academic Team
Rievan Lombard, Campbell, Sr.
Evan Crawford, Charleston Southern, Sr.
Ryan Morita, Gardner-Webb, Soph.
Lorenzo Botter, High Point, Jr.
Alec Daniel, Longwood, Soph.
William Johnson, Presbyterian College, Jr.
Nick McCumsey, Radford, Soph.
Dylan Major, UNC Asheville, Jr.
Jared Keklak, USC Upstate, Sr.
Nolan Weisdorfer, Winthrop, Soph.

Men’s Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Lorenzo Botter, High Point, Jr.

2022 Women’s Cross Country All-Academic Team
Holly Johnson, Campbell, Jr.
Anne Akagi, Charleston Southern, Sr.
Amy Prugh, Gardner-Webb, Jr.
Katie Taylor, High Point, Sr.
Kiersten Witte, Longwood, Soph.
Lili Jaraczewski, Presbyterian College, Sr.
MegAnne Gilmore, Radford, Jr.
Madeline Wittschen, UNC Asheville, Soph.
Laura Yarborough, USC Upstate, Sr.
Katie Weber, Winthrop, Sr.

Women’s Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Lili Jaraczewski, Presbyterian College, Sr.