Richland County Council elects new neadership

January 3, 2024

On Tuesday, Richland County Council officially elected new leadership for 2024. Former Council Vice Chair Jesica Mackey (District 9) was elected as chair, and Councilman Derrek Pugh (District 2) was elected vice chair.

Both Mackey and Pugh are entering the fourth year of their first terms on Council. The Councilmembers both won their seats in the 2020 election. Mackey has served as vice chair since 2022.

Newly elected Council Chair Jesica Mackey, seated center right, and Vice Chair Derrek Pugh, seated center left, will lead proceedings of the 11-member County Council in 2024.

“I am truly humbled by my fellow Councilmembers for their support,” Mackey said. “I have enjoyed serving alongside of each of you, and I look forward to continuing to work together to move Richland County forward.”

Councilwoman Jesica Mackey and Councilman Derrek Pugh were elected as new chair and vice chair, respectively, on Tuesday.

Richland County Council consists of 11 members who are elected from single-member districts for four-year terms beginning Jan. 1 of the year after their election. In January, Council elects a chair and vice chair who each serve one-year terms.

“I’m elated and grateful to serve as the next vice chairman of Richland County Council,” Pugh said. “I understand the importance of representing our collective interests and ensuring this body continues to thrive both internally and externally for the citizens of Richland County. I want to thank my colleagues for their trust and support.”

All other Councilmembers, Jason Branham (District 1), Yvonne McBride (District 3), Paul Livingston (District 4), Allison Terracio (District 5), Don Weaver (District 6), Gretchen Barron (District 7), Overture Walker (District 8), Cheryl English (District 10) and Chakisse Newton (District 11), will continue to serve their current terms.

Tuesday’s meeting was streamed live and can be viewed on the County’s YouTube Channel.