South Carolina Chamber Endorses Business-Friendly Candidates Ahead of Election Day

October 23, 2008

COLUMBIA, SC – October 23, 2008 – The South Carolina Chamber of Commerce, the state’s largest broad-based business organization, is pleased to announce their endorsements of pro-business candidates who face General Election opposition on November 4. 

“If people want jobs and a strong economy, they need to know and support pro-business candidates,” said Otis Rawl, president and chief executive officer of the South Carolina Chamber of Commerce.  “It is important, as the unified voice of the business community, that we endorse candidates who have demonstrated support for business priorities and a commitment to advance a legislative agenda that promotes competitiveness in South Carolina. These candidates are deeply committed to representing the people in their respective districts who need good jobs, a competitive state economy and a pro-prosperity working environment to ultimately raise their individual income.” 

The South Carolina Chamber is proud to support the following candidates in their election endeavors and encourages everyone to Get Out the Vote (GOTV) on November 4. Visit for voting information.  

House of Representatives Candidates Endorsed by the South Carolina Chamber:

  • Bill Sandifer, District 2*
    B.R. Skelton, District 3
    Mike Gambrell, District 7
    Mark Willis, District 16
    Dennis Moss, District 29
    ·        Harold Mitchell, District 31*      

·        Derham Cole, District 32                                   

·        Mike Forrester, District 34*                                

·        Steve Parker, District 37

·        Joey Millwood, District 38                     

·        Deborah Long, District 45                                 

·        Carl Gullick, District 48*

·        Jackie Hayes, District 55*

·        Phillip Lowe, District 60

·        Gilda Cobb-Hunter, District 66  

·        David Herndon, District 79       

·        Tom Young, District 81*

·        Don Smith, District 83              

·        Chip Huggins, District 85

·        Nikki Haley, District 87

·        Jenny Horne, District 94*

·        Annette Young, District 98*                   

·        Ken Kennedy, District 101*

·        Tracy Edge, District 104            

·        Wallace Scarborough, District 115

·        Tim Scott, District 117*

·        Leon Stavrinakis, District 119     

·        Richard Chalk, District 123*       

·        Shannon Erickson, District 124   


Senate Candidates Endorsed by the South Carolina Chamber:

·        Larry Martin, District 2*

·        Kevin Bryant, District 3

·        Billy O’Dell, District 4   

·        Mike Fair, District 6*     

·        Dee Compton, District 10

·        Lee Bright, District 12*

·        Mick Mulvaney, District 16

·        Ronnie Cromer, District 18

·        Greg Ryberg, District 24*

·        Shane Massey, District 25

·        Nikki Setzler, District 26

·        Tom Davis, District 46


*South Carolina Chamber endorsed in primary, but has no General Election opposition.



The South Carolina Chamber of Commerce, the nation’s first state chamber Accredited with Distinction by the U.S. Chamber, is the state’s largest statewide broad-based business and industry trade association representing more than 6,500 member companies and more than 600,000 member employees, with 90 percent of membership comprised of small businesses. As the unified voice for business and industry, the Chamber is a catalyst for increasing per capita income and enhancing the state’s global competitiveness in order to improve the quality of life for all South Carolinians.