Three District Five Students Earn College-Sponsored National Merit Scholarships

May 29, 2014

IRMO, SC – Three Lexington-Richland School District Five students have been named winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by colleges and universities.

Jacob Baltzegar and Olivia Blair received National Merit University of South Carolina Scholarships, while Caleb Thomas earned a National Merit Clemson University Scholarship. All three students attended Dutch Fork High School.


unnamed-1   unnamed-2

“We are tremendously proud of Jacob, Olivia and Caleb for being named National Merit Scholars,” said Dr. Greg Owings, the school’s principal. “They represent the best and brightest of all students in the United States. I know they will continue to do wonderful things in college and beyond.”

The college-sponsored National Merit Scholarship announcement is the third of its kind this year by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. The not-for-profit group named winners of its corporate-sponsored awards on April 23 and recipients of its National Merit $2,500 Scholarships on May 7. On July 14, NMSC will announce additional recipients of college-sponsored awards. Thus far, a total of seven students from District Five have earned this year’s National Merit Scholarships.

District Five Superintendent Dr. Stephen Hefner said, “Congratulations to all our students earning National Merit Scholarships this year. Their extraordinary accomplishments are a testament to their efforts and the high caliber and quality of education in District Five.”