Young Artists Reveal Creativity and Competitive Spirit

June 12, 2008

Chapin, Dutch Fork, and Irmo Students Receive Scholarship Awards

COLUMBIA, SC – June 12, 2008—Twenty students from Richland-Lexington School District Five received recognition and financial awards for their entries in an art competition sponsored by Columbia Conference Center. Participating in the competition, which included $500 scholarship awards, were more than 120 students from Irmo, Dutch Fork, and Chapin High Schools.

“We initiated this competition for two reasons,” says Mike DuBose, president of Columbia Conference Center. “First, the company has established a mission to support worthy causes in our community. And second, there are many areas in the conference center for artistic displays. It’s an ideal setting for recognizing and encouraging young artists and showing the community what our young people can do.”

Twenty students, whose projects will be on display at the conference center during the coming year, were selected for the $500 awards. Recipients include: Kimberly Padula; Bobbie Lee McLaughlin; Melanie Fitts; Gray Vitans; Naomi Miller; Kaleb McCubbins; Jessica Thompson; Jarnee’c Hall; Alexis Dunn; Kendall Barkley; Sarah Sherini; Anna Hodgson; Mandi Lesslie; Gabby Bergeh; Hannah Robles; Zachavia Batone; Meghan Earles; and Jessica Beam.

Photos of the contest winners can be seen on the Columbia Conference Center website at and select community involvement. The public is also invited to visit the center to see the artwork on display.

Columbia Conference Center, located off Fernandina Road at 169 Laurelhurst Avenue in Columbia, was opened in 2003 and offers state-of-the-art meeting facilities, professional event planning assistance, and full catering services for training, conferences, weddings, and other social events.