Human Resources Professional of the Year to be Honored in Columbia

February 7, 2009


The South Carolina Chamber of Commerce and the South Carolina State Council of the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) will honor the 2008 Human Resources Professional of the Year, presented by Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C. (Greenville, Columbia and Charleston offices).

WHAT: Human Resources Professional of the Year Awards

Nominees Are:
Peggy G. Smith, SPHR, Goodwill Industries of Lower South Carolina Inc.
Teresa C. Medlin, The Bradshaw Group
K. Michelle Powell, Select Health of South Carolina
Thyra Austin, SPHR, US Food Service Inc.
Danny L. Rhodes, Ph.D., Anderson College
Amy Marchbanks, Kravet Inc.

The evening’s keynote address will be given by Jesse Harriott, vice president of research for Monster Worldwide. 


Tuesday, February 10


6:30 p.m. – Embassy Suites, Columbia


The South Carolina Human Resources Management Award for Professional Excellence was established in 1989 to recognize an individual for outstanding service and dedication to the human resources field.  For information about the event or to register or sponsor, visit or contact Andi Gougarty at 800-799-4601.

The South Carolina Chamber of Commerce, the nation’s first state chamber Accredited with Distinction by the U.S. Chamber, is the state’s largest statewide broad-based business and industry trade association representing more than 6,500 member companies and more than 600,000 member employees, with 90 percent of membership comprised of small businesses. As the unified voice for business and industry, the Chamber is a catalyst for increasing per capita income and enhancing the state’s global competitiveness in order to improve the quality of life for all South Carolinians.