21 proven leaders chosen for Liberty Fellowship’s 13th Class

December 9, 2016

Constantly pushing to do more and to be more, the 21 Fellows announced today for the Class of 2018 have made a conspicuous mark on their communities, jobs and individual networks. The Liberty Fellowship seminar experience will challenge them to broaden that impact through dialogue, listening and learning to work with those of divergent perspectives for the good of South Carolina.

“The Fellows in this class have a deep understanding of the challenges South Carolina faces and are not afraid to take the hard path to do the right thing,” said Hayne Hipp, who co-founded Liberty Fellowship with his wife, Anna Kate. “As a class and part of the broader framework of Liberty Fellowship, they will be catalysts for change in South Carolina.”

For the lifelong experience, Liberty Fellowship recruits diverse leaders and immerses them in five seminars over 18 months. Through Socratic, round-table discussions, Fellows reflect on what makes a just society, thereby deepening knowledge, broadening perspectives and enhancing their ability to tackle issues. A highlight of the program, the Globalization Seminar, has Liberty Fellows interacting with Fellows from the Aspen Global Leadership Network in locations such as Jordan, India and China. Other key components for each Fellow are being paired with a mentor and undertaking a leadership project aimed at enriching South Carolina.

“These Fellows represent a broad cross-section of the state and will bring an international component to the discussions, as many of them have worked, studied or volunteered abroad,” added Luanne Runge, Liberty Fellowship President & CEO. “Their personal stories are compelling and drive the desire each one has to take a larger leadership role in South Carolina.”

These are the Liberty Fellows for the Class of 2018: 

Matt Alexander, Co-founder & CEO – OneWorld Health; Charleston

Kippie Brown, Senior Pastor/Teacher – Springfield Baptist Church; Greenville

Molly Hughes Cherry, Member – Nexsen Pruet; Charleston

Cara Cornelius, Vice President of Customer Service – Michelin North America; Greer

David Cutler, Distinguished Associate Professor of Music Entrepreneurship – USC; Columbia

Tyler Easterling, President & COO – The Brandon Agency; Myrtle Beach

Kacey Eichelberger, Assistant Professor – Division of Maternal-Fetal Medicine, Greenville Health System/USC School of Medicine; Greenville

Kerri Forrest, Director of the Lowcountry Program – Gaylord and Dorothy Donnelley Foundation; Charleston

Shawan Gillians, Associate General Counsel – Santee Cooper; Moncks Corner

Darrin Goss, Sr., President & CEO – Coastal Community Foundation; Charleston

Cheryl Grant, Corporate Counsel – SYNNEX Corporation; Greenville

Rob Howell, Senior Vice President – Avison Young; Greenville

Catherine LaCour, Senior Vice President of Corporate Marketing – Blackbaud; Charleston

Spann Laffitte, Vice President of Sales & Account Management – Delta Dental of South Carolina; Columbia

Michelle Logan-Owens, COO – Palmetto Health Tuomey; Sumter

John Martin, Partner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP; Columbia

Thomas McElveen, Attorney/Partner – Bryan Law Firm of SC, L.L.P.; Member, South Carolina Senate; Sumter

Matt Moore, Chairman – South Carolina Republican Party; Columbia

Ansel Sanders, President & CEO – Public Education Partners; Greenville

Strom Thurmond, Solicitor – Second Judicial Circuit of South Carolina; Aiken

Teresa Wilson, City Manager – City of Columbia; Columbia


About Liberty Fellowship

Liberty Fellowship is a statewide leadership initiative founded by Anna Kate and Hayne Hipp, Wofford College and The Aspen Institute. Through the Fellow program, Liberty Fellowship seeks to inspire outstanding leadership in South Carolina, empowering the state’s leaders to realize their full potential. Fostering a values-based approach, Liberty Fellowship exposes rising leaders to diverse perspectives, critical thinking, and intellectual and personal development. For more information: www.libertyfellowshipsc.org.