Community Leaders Step Up When it is Needed Most

August 3, 2009

Announcing United Way of the Midlands 2009-2010 Board of Directors

COLUMBIA, SC – August 3, 2009  – As United Way of the Midlands kicks off a new fiscal year, the members of the 2009-2010 Board of Directors are in place and ready to utilize each of their unique skill sets and areas of expertise to maximize the impact of United Way throughout the entire Midlands community.

Mary Kennemur, Executive Director of the Business Partnership Foundation at the University of South Carolina Moore School of Business, will serve as this year’s Chair of the Board of Directors. Kennemur has been a loyal contributor to United Way for many years and served as co-chair of the Campaign Committee in 2007 and 2008.

“My involvement with the United Way of the Midlands has been one of the most joyful experiences of my life.  It has taught me that giving is ultimately so much more gratifying than taking,” Kennemur said.  “We are very, very excited about the upcoming year and remain positive that the US economy will continue to improve.  Thanks to all our volunteers and supporters for all they have done and continue to do to strengthen United Way’s efforts.” 

The Vice Chair of the Board is James Lehman, Esq., Partner, Nelson, Mullins, Riley and Scarborough. Paul Duane, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Palmetto Health Alliance, is the Board of Directors’ Secretary and Treasurer.

United Way of the Midlands would like to welcome newly-elected board members Charlene Keys, VP & General Manager; Time Warner Cable; David Lominack, Midlands Market President, Carolina First; Percy Mack, Superintendent, Richland School District 1; Vince Meeks, Midlands Package Division Manager, UPS; Michael Seezen, Shareholder, McNair Law Firm; Scott Shockley, General Manager, Lamar Advertising; and Walt Tobin, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College. D. Michael Kelly, Esq., Principal, Mike Kelly Law Group, LLC and JoAnn Turnquist, President & CEO, Central Carolina Community Foundation are also committed to the United Way Board for the first time this year as representatives of the Central Carolina Community Foundation.

United Way of the Midlands Certified Partner Agencies consistently retain representation on the Board of Directors. This year, David Kunz, the Cooperative Ministry Executive Director, will serve as the agency representative.

In addition, each United Way of the Midlands Council Chair serves on the Board of Directors. The representatives this year are Ann Marie Stieritz, Director, Apprenticeship Carolina, from the Education-Job and Life Skills Council, Patrice Green, Career and Technology Education, SC Department of Education from the Success By 6 Council, Clanitra L. Stewart, Esq., Housing & Community Economic Development, SC Appleseed Legal Justice Center, from the Food, Shelter, Safety and Transportation Council, and lastly, Lissa Shine, Director of Medical Management, BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina from the Health & Recovery Council.

The following is a complete list of the 2009-2010 United Way of the Midlands Board of Directors:



Mary M. Kennemur, Business Partnership Foundation (Moore School of Business – USC)



James K. Lehman, Esq., Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP



Paul K. Duane, Palmetto Health Alliance



Antonio B. Boyd, HOPE worldwide Ltd.

Michael R. Brenan, BB&T of South Carolina

Sarena D. Burch, SCANA Corporation

Noble  P. Cooper, Jr. , Cooper & Cooper, P.A.

Judith M. Davis, JD, BlueCross BlueShield of SC

James W. Duckett, Town of Lexington

Jean E. Duke

Dawn I. Ellerbe, USC Athletics

Patrice Green, SC Department of Education

Henry B. Haitz, III, The State Media Company

Carl W. Hawkins, Jr., U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs  Regional Office

James E. Hazel, Jr., CPA, Elliott Davis, LLC

Nicole Holland, Bible Way Church of Atlas Road

Charles B. Jackson, Jr., New Laurel Street Baptist Church

D. Michael Kelly, Esq., Kelly Law Group

Charlene Keys, Time Warner Cable

David Kunz, The Cooperative Ministry

Pamela Pace Lackey, AT&T

Kevin W. Lindler, First Citizens Bank

David M. Lominack, Carolina First

Dr. Percy Mack, Richland School District One

Vince Meeks, UPS

Kara Sproles Mock, APR, K. Mock & Partners, LLC & Heathwood Hall Episcopal School

Stephen G. Morrison, Esq. , Nelson Mullins, Riley & Scarborough, LLP

Donna C. Northam, Colonial Life

Lissa Shine, RN, BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina

Scott Shockley , Lamar Advertising

Louise R. Slater, The Price Group

Clanitra L. Stewart, Esq. , South Carolina Appleseed Justice Center

Ann Marie Stieritz, SC Technical College System

Hildy Teegen, Ph.D., USC School of Business

Walter A. Tobin, Ph.D. , Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College

JoAnn Turnquist, Central Carolina Community Foundation

Caroline B. Whitson, Ph.D.,  Columbia College

Dr. Charles E. Young, Ph.D.,  Allen University


“The Board of Directors is an integral part of the decision making process at United Way. Just as we have in the past, we will rely in this year’s board to guide the direction of the organization and sometimes make very difficult decisions,” said Mac Bennett, president and CEO of United Way of the Midlands. “The generosity and dedication of our extraordinary volunteers is key to our success. Their collective contributions to making the community a better place truly demonstrate what it means to LIVE UNITED.”

For more information about United Way of the Midlands and the Board of Directors, visit

About United Way of the Midlands
United Way of the Midlands is the most organized, efficient and accountable system for investing in the community. With more than 80 certified partner agencies, United Way works to identify and respond to the critical human service needs of Calhoun, Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry, Orangeburg and Richland counties. Funds are raised through workplace campaigns, grant writing and individual donations. For more information, please visit