District Announces Teacher of the Year Finalists

February 12, 2009

LEXINGTON, SC — February 11, 2009 – Each year Lexington County School District One recognizes outstanding teachers — teachers who exemplify a commitment and dedication to educating students — during its Teacher of the Year competition.

This year, the district congratulates M. Scott Frye, Betsy P. Goodman, Carol L. Robertson, Amanda M. Smoak and Jonny R. Thompson. These five outstanding teachers are finalists in the district’s Teacher of the Year competition.





Scott Frye, a 20-year educator, teaches English at Pelion High.








Betsy Goodman, a teacher for 25 years, teaches EAGLE students at Pleasant Hill Elementary.








Carol Robertson, who teaches art at Lexington Elementary, has 32 years of teaching experience.









Amanda Smoak, with eight years of experience, teaches mathematics at Pelion Middle.









Jonny Thompson possesses 22 years of teaching experience and teaches special education classes at White Knoll High.




In October, staff at each Lexington One school named their 2008–2009 school-level teacher of the year. Those school-level teachers of the year then completed written applications.

A panel of five judges rated the applications, and the five teachers receiving the highest scores became finalists in the competition.

On Thursday, March 5, 2009, this same panel of judges will observe each of the five finalists as they teach and interview each finalist.

The district announces its new District Teacher of the Year on Thursday, April 30, 2009, at a celebration taking place this year in the Lexington One Performing Arts Center located at Lexington High School.

The district will also recognize the other school-level teachers of the year at the event including: Michelle S. Morrow, kindergarten teacher at Carolina Springs Elementary; Mary A. Gaskins, literacy coach at Carolina Springs Middle; Lesli C. Reeves, fourth-grade teacher at Gilbert Elementary; J. Wade Cooke, social studies teacher at Gilbert High; N. Ellen Herbkersman, sixth-grade social studies teacher at Gilbert Middle; Sharon E. McCain, first/second-grade multiage teacher at Gilbert Primary; Barbra L. Hubbard, first-grade teacher at Lake Murray Elementary School; Trudy Y. Scurry, mathematics teacher at Lexington High; Chris Fryland, physical education teacher at Lexington Intermediate; Beth H. Hollingsworth, resource teacher at Lexington Middle; Debbie G. Dooley, health science technology teacher at Lexington Technology Center; Beth A. Pepin, fourth-grade teacher at Midway Elementary; Peggy R. Howell, first-grade teacher at Oak Grove Elementary; Heather M. Gresham, fourth-grade teacher at Pelion Elementary; Amanda W. Grady, technology integration specialist at Pleasant Hill Middle; Frances S. Cox, media specialist at Red Bank Elementary; Becky D. Barringer, Title I reading teacher at Saxe Gotha Elementary; Ginny L. Merett, art teacher at White Knoll Elementary; and Suzanne R. Keller, sixth-grade social studies teacher at White Knoll Middle.