Federal Home Loan Bank of Atlanta Announces Results of 2009 Board of Directors Leadership and Independent Directors Elections

January 6, 2009

ATLANTA, GA – January 5, 2009 – Federal Home Loan Bank of Atlanta (FHLBank Atlanta) today announced the results of the 2009 elections for the chairman, vice chairman and independent director positions on the board of directors.

Scott C. Harvard, Chairman

FHLBank Atlanta board members re-elected Scott C. Harvard, president and CEO of Shore Bank in Onley, Virginia to a new term as chairman of FHLBank Atlanta’s Board of Directors. Harvard has served as chairman since 2007. He has held his current positions at Shore Bank since 1985. He also serves as a board member and executive vice president of Hampton Roads Bankshares and as a member of the board of its other banking subsidiary, The Bank of Hampton Roads in Norfolk, Virginia. Harvard was first elected to FHLBank Atlanta’s Board of Directors in 2003. During his tenure on the board, Harvard has served on the Audit, Credit and Member Services, Enterprise Risk and Operations, Executive, Finance, Governance and Compensation, and Housing and Community Investment committees of the board. He has been active in his community and in the banking associations in Virginia.

J. Thomas Johnson, Vice Chairman

FHLBank Atlanta board members also re-elected J. Thomas Johnson, vice chairman and executive vice president of First Community Bank in Newberry, South Carolina to a new term as vice chairman of FHLBank Atlanta’s Board of Directors. Johnson joined Newberry Federal in 1977, which merged with First Community Bank in 2004. Johnson is chairman of Business Carolina, Inc., a statewide economic development lender, and serves on the boards of the South Carolina Bankers Association, the ABA Government Relations Council, and a number of other civic and professional organizations. He was first elected to FHLBank Atlanta’s Board of Directors in 2004.

FHLBank Atlanta also announced that members had elected two independent directors to four-year terms, F. Gary Garczynski and LaSalle D. (Donney) Leffall, III.

F. Gary Garczynski, Public Interest Director

Garczynski is chairman of the National Housing Endowment, a member of the Prince William County, Virginia, Affordable Housing Task Force and a four-term appointee to the Virginia Housing Commission. He also is president of National Capital Land and Development, Inc., a construction and real estate development company in Woodbridge, Va. He previously served as the 2002 Past President of the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB). A housing developer with more than 30 years’ experience, Garczynski serves as a Senior Life Director of NAHB, a Life Director of the Home Builder Association of Virginia, and a Senior Life Director of the Northern Virginia Building Industry Association. Garczynski joined FHLBank Atlanta’s Board of Directors in 2007.

LaSalle D. (Donney) Leffall, III, Independent Director

Leffall is president of LDL Financial, a financial advisory and investment firm in Washington, D.C. He has held several executive management positions including president, chief operating officer, and chief financial officer of The NHP Foundation, a national nonprofit owner of affordable rental housing and provider of resident services for low- and moderate-income families. Previously, he was an investment banker in the mergers and acquisitions divisions of Credit Suisse First Boston and UBS. Leffall began his career as a corporate lawyer at Cravath, Swaine, & Moore. Leffall joined FHLBank Atlanta’s Board of Directors in 2007.

Each director’s new term began on January 1, 2009.

About FHLBank Atlanta

FHLBank Atlanta is a $214 billion asset financial institution that provides competitively-priced financing and other banking services to more than 1,200 financial institutions and their communities in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. FHLBank Atlanta is one of 12 district banks in the Federal Home Loan Bank System, which since 1990 has contributed more than $2 billion to affordable housing development in the United States.