Fifty-Three Smith Moore Leatherwood Attorneys Named to “Best in America” List

October 6, 2008

GREENSBORO, NC – October 6, 2008 – Smith Moore Leatherwood LLP attorneys populate Woodward & White’s list of The Best Lawyers in America as a record-breaking 53 from the firm were selected for inclusion in 2009.  In all, 15 Smith Moore attorneys earned the distinction of being named to the list ten or more times, while the firm scored top practice area rankings in North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia.

“This list is an indicator of the quality of attorneys who practice with Smith Moore Leatherwood and their standing among their peers,” said Steve Earp, managing partner of Smith Moore.  “We’re extremely proud of the increase in the number of our attorneys, from 32 to 53, as it reflects our success in providing quality service to our clients, and our strategy of expanding our capabilities and attorney lineup throughout the Southeast.”

The firm was rated first in North Carolina in alternative dispute resolution, appellate law and non-profit/charities law, tops in South Carolina in legal malpractice law and professional malpractice law and number one in Georgia in insurance law.  The Greensboro office, which scored top marks in 17 total categories, led all Greensboro law firms with 30 total attorneys on the list.  Meanwhile, the Greenville office scored top marks in five different categories, followed by Raleigh, which was first in three categories, and Charlotte and Atlanta, which scored top marks in one category each. 

The Best Lawyers list is based on nearly two million detailed evaluations of lawyers by their peers.  The evaluations are primarily completed by attorneys listed in the previous edition of Best Lawyers, who participated in surveys to assess each candidate for the 2009 listing and who voted based on each nominees’ individual merits.  For more information about Best Lawyers standards for membership, please visit

The following Smith Moore attorneys will be included in The Best Lawyers in America 2009, with (10) designating those who have been recognized for at least ten years, and (20) designating those listed for at least 20 years:



Elizabeth J. Bondurant: Insurance Law



Robert R. Marcus: Commercial Litigation, Mass Tort Litigation

Larry B. Sitton (10): Antitrust Law, Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation



Bruce Ashley: Construction Law

E. Kent Auberry: Corporate Law, Securities Law, Tax Law

W. Alexander Audilet:  Corporate Law

Jonathan A. Berkelhammer: Personal Injury Litigation, Product Liability Litigation

Carole W. Bruce: Trusts and Estates

Laura Deddish Burton: Immigration Law

Harold N. Bynum (20): Environmental Law

Brian W. Byrd: Real Estate Law

Herbert O. Davis (10): Banking Law, Corporate Law

Alan W. Duncan (10): Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, First Amendment Law, Medical Malpractice Law, Personal Injury Litigation

Stephen W. Earp (10): Environmental Law

Martin N. Erwin (20): Labor and Employment Law

James G. Exum, Jr.: Appellate Law, Bet-the-Company Litigation

Marilyn Feuchs-Marker: Family Law

Lisa Frye Garrison: Antitrust Law

Terrill Johnson Harris: Healthcare Law

Gregory G. Holland: Commercial Litigation

David L. Kyger: Non-profit/Charities Law

Caroline Hudson Lock: Workers’ Compensation Law

Alexander Maultsby: Labor and Employment Law

James A. Medford: Alternative Dispute Resolution, Commercial Litigation, Intellectual Property Law, International Trade and Finance Law

Charles E. Melvin, Jr. (20): Land Use and Zoning Law, Real Estate Law

Maureen Demarest Murray (10): Healthcare Law

Barbara C. Ruby: Tax Law

D. Clark Smith (10): Personal Injury Litigation

Thomas E. Terrell, Jr.: Land Use and Zoning Law

Julianna C. Theall (10): Labor and Employment Law

Allison O. Van Laningham: Appellate Law, First Amendment Law, Personal Injury Litigation, Product Liability Litigation

E. Garrett Walker (10): Real Estate Law

Jeri L. Whitfield (10): Workers Compensation Law



William L. Dennis (10): Employee Benefits Law, Trusts and Estates

Steven E. Farrar: Commercial Litigation, Legal Malpractice Law, Professional Malpractice Law

Michael J. Giese (10): Commerical Litigation, Person Injury Litigation

Mark R. Holmes: Real Estate Law

F. Marion Hughes: Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law

J. Tod Hyche: Tax Law, Trusts and Estates

John E. Johnston (10): Commercial Litigation, Personal Injury Litigation

Natalma M. McKnew:  Franchise Law

Robert D. Moseley, Jr.: Insurance Law, Personal Injury Litigation

A. Marvin Quattlebaum: Real Estate Law

Kurt M. Rozelsky: Personal Injury Litigation, Product Liability Litigation



Sidney S. Eagles, Jr.: Alternative Dispute Resolution, Appellate Law

James L. Gale: Commercial Litigation

Clyde Holt, III: Land Use and Zoning Law

Patricia A. Markus: Healthcare Law

George J. Oliver: Labor and Employment Law

Samuel O. Southern: Healthcare Law

Elizabeth C. Trahos: Land Use and Zoning Law

Robert L. Wilson, Jr. (10): Healthcare Law

David L. York: Land Use and Zoning Law



About Smith Moore Leatherwood LLP

Tracing its roots to 1919, Smith Moore Leatherwood LLP counsels clients throughout the Southeast, the nation and abroad.  Recognized for a personal commitment to solving complex legal issues, Smith Moore attorneys bring a passion for excellence, teamwork and innovation to their representation of clients in over 80 practice areas and industry groups. Smith Moore has more than 180 attorneys practicing out of offices in Charlotte, NC, Raleigh, NC, Greensboro, NC, Wilmington, NC, Greenville, SC and Atlanta, GA. 

Visit for more information.