Medal of Honor 2010 Convention Announces “Blue Ribbon” Information Committee

February 9, 2009

COLUMBIA, SC – February 9, 2009 – The Medal of Honor Society’s 2010 Convention has announced its 14-member information committee composed of senior military officers and top members of the media.

Maj. W. Thomas Smith, Jr., a columnist, military analyst, officer in the S.C. Military Dept., and former U.S. Marine rifle-squad leader, chairs the information committee, which serves the 2010 convention’s executive committee.

Much more than just a national convention, the Medal of Honor 2010 convention is a national cause, says Smith. I say that because I believe far too many Americans — who perhaps have never worn the uniform of our country — assume that America wins all of its wars because we have resources, money, and technological superiority. And those things count to be sure. But it is our military prowess that wins battles. Military tradition is the lifeblood of that prowess, and our living recipients of the Medal of Honor are the greatest living pillars of that tradition which in turn fuels the prowess.

The “blue ribbon” Information Committee includes:

• Hannah Horne – WIS-TV news anchor.

• Kay B. Day – author and nationally syndicated columnist.

• Kathleen Parker – author and nationally syndicated columnist.

• Clare Lopez – vice president of the Intelligence Summit, professor at the Centre for Counterintelligence and Security Studies, and a former CIA operations officer.

• Maj. Gen. Paul E. Vallely (U.S. Army, ret.) – author, military analyst, and former deputy commanding general of U.S. Army forces Pacific.

• Lt. Gen. Thomas G. McInerney (U.S. Air Force, ret.) – author, military analyst, and former assistant vice chief of staff of the Air Force.

• Jed Babbin – author, editor of Human Events, and former deputy undersecretary of Defense.

• Rita Cosby – author, radio host, special correspondent for Inside Edition, and a former anchor at FOX News and MSNBC.

• Carol Taber – president of Family Security Matters and the former publisher of Success magazine.

• Capt. Lou Colbus (U.S. Navy, ret.) – former commander of Destroyer Squadron Two and the former chief of staff for Carrier Battle Group Eight.

• Rebecca Pepin – author, news anchor at WCYB-TV (FOX News affiliate) in Bristol, Tenn.-VA, and a former reporter at WIS-TV in Columbia.

• John Temple Ligon – radio host, business editor, and former U.S. Army Ranger and artillery officer.

• Chris Carter – web designer, radio host, and U.S. Air Force veteran.

In an article for The U.S. Report, Gen. Vallely said, “Because of where we are in America, honoring our heroes and warriors and paying a great tribute to them is very important—the sacrifice of men and women—the families of these heroes and warriors sometimes go unsung. We need to show that the American people back our armed forces. We do that by paying tribute whenever we can.”

The Information Committee is responsible for expanding public awareness of-and-for the Medal of Honor – the nation’s highest award for valor in combat – the living recipients of the medal, and the forthcoming convention, which will be held next year in Charleston.

Smith reports to Brig. Gen. Eugene F. Rogers, the senior project officer for the S.C. Military Department and founder of Columbia-based law firm Rogers Townsend & Thomas.

“It is absolutely essential to the moral health and strength of this nation, especially in this time of war, that we increase the awareness of who these men are and why they – not some celebrity or sports star – are the true heroes of America,” says Rogers.

About the Medal of Honor 2010 Convention

The Medal of Honor Society’s 2010 Convention will be hosted by the S.C. State Guard Foundation (Maj. Gen. Nelson Lacy, pres.) and the Citadel (Lt. Gen. John Rosa, pres.), Sept. 29—Oct. 3, 2010 in Charleston, S.C.  Donations in support of the convention may be made to:

S.C. State Guard Foundation
Post Office Box 100200
Columbia, S.C. 29202
For more information, visit