SCDOT Announces Safe Routes to School Recipients

October 1, 2008

“Safe Routes to School” Program is 100 percent Federally Funded”

COLUMBIA, SC – October 1, 2008 – The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) Commission has announced funding for schools to develop comprehensive bicycle and pedestrian programs as part of the “Safe Routes to School Program.” Each recipient will be reimbursed up to $200,000 for work performed under the program. The funds are 100% federal and require no state or local match.

The schools selected for the 2008 funding cycle are:

·        Aiken Middle School – Aiken County

·        Augusta Circle Elementary – Greenville County

·        Beech Hill Elementary – Dorchester County

·        Boulder Bluff Elementary – Berkeley County

·        Carver Lyon Elementary – Richland County

·        Fountain Inn Elementary – Greenville County

·        Georgetown Middle – Georgetown County

·        Inman Elementary – Spartanburg County

·        Midland Park Elementary – Charleston County

·        Waccamaw Elementary – Georgetown County.


The Safe Routes to School Program is a comprehensive bicycle and pedestrian program for schools with grades K-8. Federal legislation provides funding for State Departments of Transportation to create and administer Safe Routes to School programs in communities.

Ninety percent of the funds awarded this year will be used for infrastructure improvements (engineering and construction projects that include sidewalks, pathways, intersection improvements, and signage) and ten percent will be used for non-infrastructure (education, encouragement, and enforcement) programs.

This is a comprehensive outreach program that addresses environmental issues, health and physical activity for youth and adults, educational impact, traffic congestion, and accessibility to all modes of transportation.

Selected schools and their respective communities will begin planning their Safe Routes to School programs this fall. Plans will be implemented in 2009.


For more information on the Safe Routes to School Program in South Carolina, contact Patti Dalis Sistrunk, Safe Routes to School Program Coordinator, SCDOT (803) 737-4073, [email protected]