State Board of Education will honor exceptional public school volunteers

October 21, 2008

COLUMBIA, SC – October 21, 2008 – Thirty individuals and organizations will be recognized by the State Board of Education on Wednesday, October 29, for exceptional volunteer service to public schools.

Recognition ceremonies are scheduled for 12 noon that day at the South Carolina State Museum, 301 Gervais Street in Columbia.

The annual awards are authorized by the Education Improvement Act of 1984 and are designed to honor the time, energy, talents and other resources contributed to South Carolina schools.

Hundreds of students’ lives have been positively impacted by the honorees we are saluting this year, stated State Superintendent of Education Jim Rex. It is so inspiring to hear the stories of how initial interaction between adults and students has grown to produce meaningful relationships for all involved. The rewards are tremendous.

The Volunteer Awards honor significant contributions made by four categories of recipients: individuals, businesses, civic organizations and school improvement councils. Candidates are nominated by school districts across the state. Criteria for selection include promoting student achievement, enhancing school-community relations, strengthening school or district resources, encouraging a positive climate and promoting teacher effectiveness.

The winners were selected from a statewide panel of judges. They are:


Glen Blocker, Laurens School District Fifty-Five
Pat Gajewski, Lexington School District One
Mamie Gamble, Williamsburg County School District
Terry Geddings, Sumter School District Two
Mary Kelly, School District of Pickens County
Ralph W. Little, Anderson School District Five
Joanne Lizza, Anderson School District Five
Linda Morrow, Spartanburg School District One
Carole Mottel, Beaufort County School District
Susan Murray, Dorchester School District Two
Muriel Peterson, Beaufort County School District
Jerry Poore, Charleston County School District
Beatrice Rivers, Clarendon School District One
E’Lane Rutherford, Georgetown County School District
William Sample, Richland School District Two
Walter L. Sanders, Sr., Clarendon School District One
Philip Schaffner, Dorchester School District Two
Peter Singleton, Beaufort County School District
Barry Stutts, District Five of Lexington and Richland Counties
Cheri Brown Thompson, Orangeburg Consolidated School District Five
Gregory Wilkins, Spartanburg School District One
Rebecca Jo Williams, Richland School District Two


Epic Sign & Banner, Inc., Lexington School District Two
Inman First Baptist Church, Spartanburg School District One
St. Jude Medical, School District of Pickens County
Zeus, Inc., Orangeburg Consolidated School District Five

Civic Organizations

Camden High School Academic Booster Club, Kershaw County School District
Frazee Dream Center, Greenville County School District
Inman Lions Club, Spartanburg School District One
Satchel Ford Fine Arts Steering Committee, Richland School District One