Three Education Leaders Named SCASA William B. Harley Administrators of the Year

July 17, 2008

COLUMBIA, SC – July 17, 2008 – School leaders in Hampton, Georgetown and Richland have been named 2008 William B. Harley Administrators of the Year. The South Carolina Association of School administrators (SCASA) and the R.L. Bryan Company present the awards each year.

Each year, SCASA selects three education leaders as exemplars of education leadership. The newest award winners are Dr. Terry O’Neal Pruitt, former superintendent of Hampton School District One; Dr. Celestine A. Pringle, assistant superintendent of Georgetown County Schools; and Mrs. Charlene N. Herring, chief academic officer of Richland School District Two.

Dr. Pruitt began his career as a band director in Bamberg District One. He then rose through the ranks as an assistant principal and principal in Hampton District One. After receiving his doctorate in 2003, he became superintendent of Hampton District One Schools. His schools and the district have been noted for outstanding academic performance and received accolades as Palmetto Gold and Silver winners, Red Carpet School winners and EOC Showcase schools.

Dr. Pringle began her career in 1972 as an English and Spanish teacher at Choppee High School. She has also served as a principal and vice-principal, director of adult and community education and director of student support services for Georgetown County Schools. A longtime member, advocate and SCASA supporter of SCASA, she served as president of the Allied Division and on the Summer Leadership Institute committee.

Herring has been a middle and high school teacher in Darlington, Sumter and Fairfield County schools, and later in Richland districts One and Two.  Her administrative career in Richland Two has included roles as curriculum coordinator, principal and director of curriculum and special projects. She’s been president of the South Carolina Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development and a SCASA workshop presenter and Palmetto Finest site visitor for many years.

Harley Award winners are selected on the basis of their:

  • Evidence of outstanding leadership as an educational administrator
  • Record of service and leadership as a member of SCASA and its divisions
  • Community service not directly related to the education profession
  • Service to the profession above and beyond normal job responsibilities


Winners receive a cash prize and commemorative plaque. SCASA is the professional organization for school leaders in South Carolina, with a membership of more than 2,900, and is the state affiliate of three national associations for educators.