Attorney General Alan Wilson pledges to join FCC and other states in combating robocalls

June 6, 2022

Attorney General Alan Wilson today joined 40 other attorneys general in applauding the Federal Communications Commission’s ongoing work to combat robocalls, and in committing to make a good-faith effort to join a robocall information-sharing agreement with the FCC.

“Robocalls are one of life’s most aggravating irritants and are something we all have to deal with, but states can do very little on their own to fight them. That’s why this partnership with the FCC is so important,” Attorney General Wilson said.

In the letter attorneys general sent to the FCC, the attorneys general commended the FCC’s leadership in encouraging states to join information-sharing agreements and said the opportunity honors our country’s tradition of federalism and demonstrates a commitment to addressing complex issues collaboratively.

South Carolina has signed an agreement with the FCC. While not all attorneys general who signed the letter have entered into agreements, the letter demonstrates their commitment to do so. Those who previously signed an information-sharing agreement with the FCC reaffirmed in the letter their commitment to work collaboratively in the future.

The attorneys general previously called on the FCC to block illegal robocalls from other countries and joined a bipartisan effort to urge Congress to act against robocalls.

The 41 states and territories signing the letter are:

Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.