Carrero named principal of Lakeside Middle School

June 13, 2024

At their June 11 Board Meeting, the Lexington County School District One Board of Trustees approved Dr. Megan Carrero as the new principal of Lakeside Middle School. She replaces Casey Calhoun, who has moved to the position of the district’s executive director of high schools and postsecondary pathways.

Lexington One Superintendent Dr. Gerrita Postlewait said, “Dr. Megan Carrero is an accomplished instructional leader and educator who has spent her entire 21-year educational career at the middle school level. She is a true champion for all middle school students, their teachers and families.”

Dr. Carrero began her career in 2003 as a middle school science teacher at Pine Ridge Middle School in Lexington School District Two, before being promoted to assistant principal at R.H. Fulmer Middle School in 2008. In 2013, Dr. Carrero became the principal of R.H. Fulmer Middle School, a position she held for the last 11 years. Under her leadership, Fulmer Middle received the National Forum to Accelerate Middle Grades Reform National School to Watch Redesignation four times and became an Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID) College Readiness School and Model Professional Learning Community School.

Dr. Carrero earned her Bachelor of Science in elementary education and psychology from Newberry College. From the University of South Carolina, she earned a doctorate in education leadership and policy studies, an educational specialist, and master’s degree in education administration. She is a member of the S.C. Association for Middle Level Education (SC-AMLE) and Schools to Watch team; the University of South Carolina Teacher Induction Program (CarolinaTIP), Teaching Fellows and Educational Leadership Department Principal advisory boards. She was named the 2022 S.C. Association of School Administrators (SCASA) Middle-Level Principal of the Year, 2022 inductee into the Newberry College Hall of Master Teachers, and a 2023 inductee into the University of South Carolina Champions for Education.