Charleston Metro Chamber announces 2022 Honors winners

July 26, 2022

The Charleston Metro Chamber celebrates the achievements of local organizations and leaders with an exemplary commitment to the region’s economic development and quality of life by presenting the 2022 Honors awards. On September 7 at the American Theater, they will be celebrating these companies and individuals at The Honors, which applauds the business community and commemorates the Chamber’s nearly 250 years of impact to the region.

“We are thrilled to announce this powerful group of leaders and businesses that have earned these award distinctions,” said Bryan Derreberry, President and CEO of the Charleston Metro Chamber. “Nominations are made by Chamber members and this recognition symbolizes the incredible impacts they are having on the community.”

2022 Honors Award Winners include:

Business of the Year – Charleston Southern University

Recognizes an organization known for long-standing excellence, who has demonstrated business success for 20 plus years and showcases a deep dedication for advancing the business community and Charleston region.

Small Business of the Year – Charleston RiverDogs

Presented to an outstanding small business who has demonstrated value in community engagement, entrepreneurship, employee relations, leadership and performance.

Community Impact Champion – Social Venture Partners
This award is presented to a business or individual who has exhibited a commitment to the community by demonstrating an active leadership role through their involvement in business, civic and social service organizations.

Diversity Champion – Palmetto Goodwill

Honors a business or leader who is committed to creating a more diverse, equitable and inclusive workplace and/or community.

Non-Profit of the Year – Our Lady of Mercy Community Outreach

This award is presented to a local non-profit organization who is dedicated to serving the needs of our region. This non-profit has made considerable impacts in enhancing lives and our community.

Innovator of the Year – Nexton

This award recognizes a business or leader that has created a cutting-edge product or service that has impacted their industry/region or someone that has grown or reshaped their business in a significant and meaningful way.

One To Watch –  Janet Bates

Recognizes an individual rising through the ranks, with outstanding professional, personal and leadership success in the business community while contributing time and energy to advancing the Charleston region.

The highly acclaimed Joseph P. Riley Leadership Award will be announced at a later date. This award celebrates an outstanding community volunteer who is doing extraordinary work to strengthen the community and has demonstrated a lifetime of leadership. Previous winners include Dr. David Cole (2021), Dr. Jairy C. Hunter (2019), Len Hutchison (2018), Perry Keith Waring (2017), W. Brian Moody (2016) and Thompson E. Penney (2015).


With approximately 1,600 member organizations representing 160,000 professionals, the Charleston Metro Chamber of Commerce serves as the collective voice of the business community, and a catalyst for regional economic advancement and member success through Talent, Government Relations and Community Development. Visit