Chuck Saylors installed as SCSBA president

December 12, 2019

Chuck Saylors, member of the Greenville County Schools Board, was installed as president of the South Carolina School Boards Association (SCSBA) during the association’s annual Delegate Assembly held Saturday, December 7, in Charleston.

The association’s annual business meeting, which was held during the association’s Legislative Advocacy Conference, included voting delegates from most of the state’s 79 school boards. In addition to the election of association officers, delegates adopted resolutions to guide the association during the 2020 legislative session.

Saylors was elected to the Greenville County Schools Board in 2002. He has served as chair and on numerous committees while on the Greenville Board. He has served on the SCSBA board since 2015. Saylors is a lifelong resident of the Greenville community. His educational background includes Greenville County Schools, Greenville Technical College and the University of South Carolina. Saylors is the vice president of the Construction Management Division of MB Kahn Construction Company based out of Columbia, S.C.

Saylors is a past State President for the South Carolina PTA and served as the first male National PTA President during the 2009-2011 term. He served as president of the National Federation of Urban Suburban School Districts (NFUSSD) in 2014 and served as a member of the Board of Directors of the South Carolina Association of School Administrators (SCASA) from 2013-2016. He previously served as a member of the Advisory Committee for the Green Ribbon Schools project of the United States Green Building Council (USGBC).

He and his wife Teresa have four children and two grandchildren.

Saylors follows Tony Folk as president. Folk moves into the past-president seat.

Officers elected to lead the association’s board of directors for a one-year term are as follows:

  • President-elect, Cheryl Burgess, Lexington School District Three
  • Secretary/Treasurer, Jamie Devine, Richland One School District

Others elected to serve a four-year term on the 21-member board of directors as regional directors are:

  • Region 3 Director, Michael Ramsey, Berkeley County School District
  • Region 7 Director, Mary Ulmer, Orangeburg County School District
  • Region 11 Director, Tim Rhodes, Abbeville County School District
  • Region 12 Director, Billy Blackwell, Cherokee County School District (completing one year of a four year term)
  • Region 15 Director, Lisa Wells, Greenville County Schools

The South Carolina School Boards Association is a non-profit organization serving as a source of information and a statewide voice for boards governing the state’s 79 school districts.