Credit One Charleston Open announces preliminary player field featuring top ranked players and Grand Slam champions

March 13, 2024

Player field highlighted by five Grand Slam champions, five Charleston champions and four top 10 players

The Credit One Charleston Open, the largest women’s-only professional tennis tournament in North America, has released its preliminary main draw player field for the 2024 tennis tournament, March 30 – April 7 on Daniel Island in Charleston, South Carolina. The tournament is the clay season kick-off on the Hologic WTA Tour and was recently named the WTA 500 Tournament of the Year for the second consecutive season. 

The Credit One Charleston Open preliminary main draw is highlighted by five Grand Slam champions, five Charleston champions and four top 10 players. The field is headlined by World No. 5 and 2023 Montreal champion Jessica Pegula, World No. 6, three-time Grand Slam finalist and 2023 Charleston champion Ons Jabeur, World No. 9 and 2023 Guadalajara champion Maria Sakkari and World No. 10 and 2017 Roland Garros champion Jelena Ostapenko. In addition to Ostapenko, Grand Slam champions Victoria Azarenka, Barbora Krejcikova, Sofia Kenin and Sloane Stephens have entered the field.

Jabeur joins Stephens (2016), Daria Kasatkina (2017), Madison Keys (2019) and Veronika Kudermetova (2021) as one of five past Charleston champions returning in pursuit of a second title on the green clay of the Credit One Stadium in April. Charleston native and World No. 23 Emma Navarro, who captured her first WTA title recently in Hobart, will also compete on home soil this year.

“We are very happy with the exceptional quality and depth of our 2024 Charleston player lineup, which showcases an exciting blend of the sport’s elite competitors and emerging young talent,” said Bob Moran, President of Beemok Sports & Entertainment. “From Grand Slam champions to players who have recently won their first WTA title, our field highlights the pinnacle of women’s tennis in Charleston. I can guarantee outstanding matches from start to finish for our attendees and viewers tuning in on Tennis Channel.”

Player field stats include:

  • Four Top 10 Players: Jessica Pegula, Ons Jabeur, Maria Sakkari, Jelena Ostapenko

  • Five Grand Slam Champions: Victoria Azarenka (2012 and 2013 Australian Open), Jelena Ostapenko (2017 Roland Garros), Sloane Stephens (2017 US Open), Sofia Kenin (2020 Australian Open), Barbora Krejcikova (2021 Roland Garros)

  • Five Charleston Open Champions: Ons Jabeur, Madison Keys, Sloane Stephens, Veronika Kudermetova, Daria Kasatkina

  • Nine American Competitors: Jessica Pegula, Madison Keys, Emma Navarro, Sloane Stephens, Caroline Dolehide, Sofia Kenin, Danielle Collins, Amanda Anisimova and Ashlyn Krueger

Four additional players will join the main draw via wild card entry, to be announced at a later date. To round out the field, six players will earn entry into the main draw via qualifying competition beginning March 30.

The nine-day Credit One Charleston Open showcases a singles draw of 48 players, a qualifying draw of 28 players and a doubles draw of 16 players. The event traditionally hosts more than 90,000 attendees on Daniel Island. The tournament recently released its Fan Hub, which showcases special events, food and beverage options, partner activities and more happening throughout the nine-day tournament.

Charleston Tennis, LLC, which manages Credit One Stadium under a lease from the City of Charleston, renovated and modernized the 20-year-old facility in 2022. The city-owned venue underwent upgrades to enhance the stadium experience for patrons, performers, tennis players and event management, allowing the venue to attract world-class athletes and talent to Daniel Island.

The Credit One Charleston Open has been a pioneer in women’s professional sports since 1973, paving the path for female tennis players to receive equal recognition, respect and pay in the sport. Originally held on Hilton Head Island, the event moved to Charleston in 2001 and is played on Daniel Island at the LTP Daniel Island tennis center, home to the Credit One Stadium.

Tickets can be purchased online at or by calling (843) 856-7900. For additional information, please email or visit

About the Credit One Charleston Open

The Credit One Charleston Open is North America’s largest women’s-only tennis tournament. The event, formerly known as the Volvo Car Open, moved to Charleston, S.C., in 2001 from Hilton Head Island, S.C., and celebrated its 50th year in 2022. In the same year, and for the first time in tournament history, the Credit One Charleston Open was also recognized as the WTA 500 event of the year. The Credit One Charleston Open traditionally welcomes more than 90,000 spectators each year. The tournament features a singles draw of 48 players, a qualifying draw of 24 players and a doubles draw of 16 players. In conjunction with Tennis Channel and WTA Media, the Credit One Charleston Open is showcased from the first ball struck in main draw competition to the last ball played in finals, throughout the U.S. and 174 international partners. The tournament receives more than 100 hours of tennis coverage, broadcast live from Charleston across the globe to millions of fans. The tournament is operated by Charleston Tennis, LLC. For more information on the Credit One Charleston Open, visit, call (843) 856-7900, email [email protected], Facebook (Credit One Charleston Open), Twitter (@CharlestonOpen) or Instagram (@CreditOneCharlestonOpen).

About Credit One Bank

Credit One Bank is one of the fastest-growing credit card issuers in the U.S. Founded in 1984 and headquartered in Las Vegas, Credit One Bank offers a full spectrum of credit card products including cash back and points-based cards as well as jumbo CDs. Credit One Bank is also the Official Credit Card of the Las Vegas Raiders, NASCAR, WWE, the Vegas Golden Knights, and Best Friends Animal Society. Learn more at, on our Newsroom, or on social media (@CreditOneBank) on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, YouTube and LinkedIn.