December Rookie Teacher of the Block Award goes to first grade teacher at Rice Creek Elementary School

December 15, 2021

Ty’Laysia Johnson, a first year teacher at Rice Creek Elementary School of Academics, innovation and Leadership (SAiL), has made a name for herself by simply caring for her students and her ability to monitor and adjust well to different situations in her school environment. Johnson has been named the December 2021 Rookie Teacher of the Block (RTOB). The award is sponsored by H&R Block, a dedicated partner of Richland School District Two.

Stacey Gadson, the principal of Rice Creek Elementary said from the initial interview Johnson has truly demonstrated her abilities and passion for education. “Each day she sees an opportunity for each of her students to learn as well as herself. She is not afraid to ask questions, ask for help, search for solutions to reach the needs of students, help others on her team and throughout the school,” states Gadson. “She is extremely patient with her students and gives them the time they need to learn and achieve success.”

Johnson, who teaches first graders at Rice Creek, says she is motivated each day to see students achieve their personal best. “My students inspire me to be my best self, so that I can bring out the best in them. It is my goal to support, encourage, and challenge them as they develop learning skills and grow as individuals. I am excited and honored to be a part of such a phenomenal team of educators who are just as passionate about education as I am. It isn’t difficult getting up each morning to come to a place that feels like an extension of your home. I simply love it here,” said Johnson.

RTOB winners receive a plaque to hang outside their door, a nameplate for the door, discounted tax preparation from H&R Block, a unique trophy designed by the 3D printing class at the Richland Two Institute of Innovation (R2i2), and a bag of Richland Two goodies from Human Resources. Each month a RTOB is chosen and then an overall winner, Rookie Teacher of the Year, is selected.