Early Voting Begins May 28 for Laurens County Primaries

May 27, 2024

Early voting for the upcoming primary elections will begin on May 28, providing voters in Laurens County the opportunity to cast their ballots ahead of the June 11 primary date. This primary election will determine the nominees for several key positions in local and state government, setting the stage for the November general election.

As the S.C. State Election Commission (SEC) gears up for the upcoming June Primaries, they are encouraging registered voters to jumpstart their participation by voting early. “You don’t have to wait until Election Day, June 11th, to cast your ballot,” says Howie Knapp, Executive Director of the SEC. “You can vote at any early voting center in your county and vote just like you would at your polling place on Election Day.”

Vote Early

The early voting period starts on Tuesday, May 28, and ends Friday, June 7 but closed on weekends and state holidays. Early voting in Laurens County takes place at the Laurens County Voter Registration office (105 Bolt Dr, Laurens) from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. during the early voting period. Voters will be asked to present a Photo ID when checking in to vote.

Vote Absentee

Qualified voters can vote absentee by mail. An example of a qualified voter could be a person with a physical disability or someone who is age 65 or older.

To see a full list of qualifying reasons to vote absentee, visit the absentee voting page on scVOTES.gov. To vote absentee by mail, get your application by contacting your county voter registration office. The deadline to return your application is 5:00 p.m. on Friday, May 31. Return your ballot by mail or personal delivery as soon as possible, but no later than 7:00 p.m. on Election Day, June 11.

Stay Prepped for the Polls

Get a copy of your sample ballot, voting locations, and more election information by visiting clicking HERE.

Below is a list of those that will be listed either on the Republican or Democrat ballot for the Primary in Laurens, depending on your area.

US House of Representatives-District 3

  • Sherri Biggs (R)
  • Kevin Bishop (R)
  • Mark Burns (R)
  • Franky Franco (R)
  • Phil Healy (R)
  • Stewart Jones (R)
  • Elspeth Snow Murday (R)
  • Bryon Best (D)
  • Frances Guldner (D)

Laurens County Sheriff

  • Don Reynolds (R)
  • Chris Wilkes (R)

Laurens County Coroner

  • Patti Canupp (R)
  • Bill Seawright (R)

County Council District 2

  • Matthew Brownlee (R)
  • Dale Stetz (R)

County Council District 3

  • Shirley Clark (D)
  • Lee McDaniel (D)

County Council District 7

  • David Tribble (R)
  • Justin Lane (R)

With a diverse array of candidates representing different parties and constituencies, voters in Laurens County have an important decision to make in the upcoming elections. These races will significantly impact the county’s governance and future direction, from local law enforcement to state legislative representation.

Early voting allows residents to avoid the rush on election day and ensures their voices are heard. Voters are encouraged to review the candidates and make informed decisions.