Fans can now become voting members of the South Carolina Football Hall of Fame

October 1, 2014

GREENVILLE, SC – The South Carolina Football Hall of Fame (SCFHOF) will be opening online voting for the 2015 South Carolina Collegiate Player of the Year Award and the 2015 Inductee class starting October 1, 2014.

Last year the 2014 POY was awarded to former Clemson QB Tajh Boyd, and the inductee class included football greats William Perry, Freddie Solomon, Deacon Jones, and Sterling Sharpe.

People can go to and register to become a voting member (among other benefits) of the SCFHOF. All registered voting members (including media) will be able to participate in each round of the voting process and become part of a special online community.

This year’s voting process will include three voting rounds over the next three months that will conclude in a South Carolina Collegiate Player of The Year Award winner and the final 2015 Inductee Class of four members.

Starting October 1, there will be a POY ballot presented on of 15 names with an opportunity to manually vote names of other players. This option is only available during the first round of voting. The first round will consist of at least a three week period of time, where the top 10 will advance to the semi-final round. The top five of the semi-final vote will move onto the finals, and then a finalist will be determined from that vote. The names on a ballot will be fluid based on voting and player performance during the whole voting process.

To be eligible, athletes for the SC Collegiate Player of the Year must either play football for a South Carolina college or university or have been born/played high school football in the state. The award will be presented during the South Carolina Hall of Fame’s induction ceremony on April 16, 2015, and honored at the Medal of Honor Bowl in January 2015.

The 2015 Inductee class will be determined similarly. This year’s first round ballot will include 35 names with the chance to manually vote other names you feel deserve this recognition. The top 20 vote getters of the first round will move onto the semi-final round, while the top 8 of that round will move on to the finals. Each round will consist of at least a three week period.

To vote you must be a registered member of the SCFHOF, so please register today at



About the South Carolina Football Hall of Fame

The South Carolina Football Hall of Fame was created to honor those athletes, coaches, and business professionals from the Palmetto State who created a historic and significant impact on college and professional football.