Horry County Solid Waste Authority Presents Annual Environmental Awards

July 29, 2015

CONWAY, SC – Educators and staff from Horry County Schools were recently honored during the Horry County Solid Waste Authority’s 22nd Annual Environmental Awards Banquet held on July 21, 2015 in Conway.

Certificates of Environmental Improvement were awarded to River Oaks Elementary, Homewood Elementary, Midland Elementary, and Palmetto Bays Elementary for their continued efforts in recycling and waste reduction.

The Green Spark Award was presented to Seaside Elementary for their unique outlets and materials to spark environmental awareness. Items, such as crayons, Colgate items, chip bags, shoes, Elmer’s glue, scotch tape, writing utensils, batteries, and juice pouches are recycled within the school.

Burgess Elementary, Conway Elementary, Ocean Bay Middle, and Early College High School were each honored with the Gold Star Award for their exceptional efforts in their school recycling programs during the 2014-2015 school year. This would include the classroom paper recycling program as well as the cafeteria recycling program.

Jamey Couch of St. James Elementary and Renee Fowler of Ocean Drive Elementary were each recognized with the Recycling Super Star Award for their dedication and leadership in conserving the environment at school and in the community. All have successfully created sustainable recycling and waste reduction programs within their school.

Laura Randolph of Conway Elementary School was named the 2014-2015 Recycling Liaison of the Year for her leadership and diligence in promoting recycling and environmental awareness in her school.

The Solid Waste Authority’s highest honor, the Environmental Eagle Award, was presented to Mr. Jim Swaim of Drift Along Natural Designs. Mr. Swaim was honored for his contributions to the environmental wellbeing of Horry County through his work in designing artwork and sculptures from litter he has collected.