Jim Newsome named 2022 Joseph P. Riley Leadership Award winner

July 26, 2022

The Charleston Metro Chamber announced Jim Newsome as the recipient of the 2022 Joseph P. Riley Leadership Award, which will be presented at The Honors on September 7.

Named after one of the region’s most notable and popular leaders, the late father of Former Mayor Joe Riley, the Joseph P. Riley award was initiated in 1992 by the Charleston Metro Chamber. The recipients of this award are dedicated to serving and strengthening the Charleston community.

Through his years of leadership, Newsome has proven to be an outstanding leader who is committed to making the community a better place to live, work and do business.

“Jim Newsome established and actualized a vision for the South Carolina Ports Authority that made our port and maritime industry national leaders. He did this from a starting point that had our port in a non-competitive position,” said Bryan Derreberry, President and CEO of the Charleston Metro Chamber. “Jim’s collaborative mindset, engaging personality, passion for our region and desire to excel make him an ideal candidate to receive the Joseph P. Riley Award. His mark on the Lowcountry and the whole state of South Carolina will be a lasting one. Congratulations, Jim!”

Newsome has served at the helm of South Carolina Ports since 2009 and recently retired in June of this year. During his tenure, Newsome significantly enhanced port operations, grew the port’s cargo base with strategic investments, led the doubling of cargo volumes in a decade and successfully created vital infrastructure projects. His efforts have ensured a fluid supply chain and created jobs throughout the state.

Newsome will be celebrated for his incredible impact to our region at The Honors on September 7 at the American Theater. The Chamber will also recognize other outstanding business leaders and organizations, who are doing exceptional work in our region with Honors Awards.

Previous winners of the Joseph P. Riley Leadership Award include Dr. David Cole (2021), Dr. Jairy C. Hunter (2019), Len Hutchison (2018), Perry Keith Waring (2017), W. Brian Moody (2016) and Thompson E. Penney (2015).

For more information about The Honors and to purchase tickets, visit www.charlestonchamber.org/thehonors


About the Charleston Metro Chamber

With approximately 1,600 member organizations representing 160,000 professionals, the Charleston Metro Chamber of Commerce serves as the collective voice of the business community, and a catalyst for regional economic advancement and member success through Talent, Advocacy, Leadership and Business Development. Visit charlestonchamber.org.