Laurens County Council Elects New Leadership

January 13, 2021

The first order of business at the January 12th meeting of Laurens County Council was to elect the chair and vice chair of council. The election process was facilitated by County Attorney Sandy Cruickshanks.

Brown Patterson and Jeff Carroll

Councilman Brown Patterson was nominated by Councilman Jeff Carroll and elected to the chair position in a 7-0 vote.

Councilman McDaniel nominated Councilwoman Anderson but there was no second. Then Councilwoman Anderson nominated McDaniel and Councilman Younts seconded. Councilman Patterson nominated Councilman Carroll with a second from Councilman Rankin. The final vote was 4 for Carroll and 3 for McDaniel.

Chairman Patterson and Vice Chairman Carroll will serve in their respective leadership roles for a two-year term, January 2021 – December 2022.