LC Touchdown Club Announces Player of the Week – Tushawan Richardson

October 30, 2023

The Laurens County Touchdown Club is proud to announce that for games played on October 27th, the Player of the week is junior quarterback Tushawan Richardson of Clinton High School.

Richardson is the quarterback for Clinton High School as the Red Devils defeated the Emerald Vikings by a score of 51 – 13 last Friday night on the regular season finale.  Clinton High will host Palmetto this Friday night at Wilder Stadium to begin the first round of the SCHSL AAA Playoffs.

Tushawan Richardson, the Clinton High School junior signal caller, completed six passes on eight attempts for 157 yards and 3 TDs passes with a long TD pass of 50 yards and no sacks.  Richardson also rushed for 23 yards with a long of 13 yards for a 7.7 per yard carry.

Clinton High School Head Coach Corey Fountain stated, “Many players have talent; however, not many players have a growth mindset that drives them to work, learn, and push themselves every day to get better.  Tushawan is that player that has the talent and growth mindset.  He always keeps a cool head and is looking for ways to get the ball down the field to his receivers.  He has the ability to extend plays and make things happen when things don’t go as planned.  I am really excited to see what the future holds for him.”

The Laurens County Touchdown Club will honor Tushawan on November 2nd at the bi-monthlyTouchdown Club meeting.  The meeting will be at noon at The Ridge in Laurens.  Player of the Week awards this year is presented by Farm Bureau Insurance of Laurens County.

The November 2nd meeting will feature former Clemson University and Pittsburgh Steeler great Levon Kirkland.  Kirkland currently is the Vice President of Development for the South Carolina Football Hall of Fame.

The Laurens County Touchdown Club meets every other Thursday throughout the football season at The Ridge located in Laurens at 301 Exchange Road and the public is invited.  Tickets can be purchased at the door for $15. All meetings are at Noon with the Food Service line opening at 11:45 am.