Legislative Delegations Elect New SCDOT Commissioners

March 9, 2008

COLUMBIA, SC – Marh 7, 2008 – Legislative Delegations in the 1st and 3rd Congressional Districts have elected two new members to the South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) Commission.

Daniel H. Isaac Jr., of Myrtle Beach, was elected to represent the 1st Congressional District. Charles E. Dalton, of Easley, was elected to represent the 3rd Congressional District.  The Legislative Delegations elected the two new Commissioners on Thursday, March 6, 2008.

Isaac will replace Vice Chairman Joe Young. Dalton will replace Commissioner Marion P. Carnell. The terms of Young and Carnell expire this month.

A 1974 graduate of The Citadel, Isaac is the President of A&I Corporation and its North Carolina sister company, Alisco, Inc.  Isaac serves on the Board of Directors of Crescent Bank, the Board of Directors of Electric Services of South Carolina, and is the treasurer of Benchmark Management. He is married to Sally M. Isaac and has two children.

Dalton, a 1964 Clemson University graduate, is President and CEO of Blue Ridge Electric Cooperative, Inc. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Electric Cooperatives of S.C., the Board of Directors of the Peoples Bancorporation and the Board of Directors of the Bank of Anderson.

A former member of Pickens City Council, Dalton served on the S.C. Highway Commission from 1979-1983, and again from 1987-1991.  He was chairman in 1983 and 1991. He is married to Olivia Davis Dalton and has three children.