Nominations for 2010 Preservation Awards

February 10, 2010

COLUMBIA, SC – February 10, 2010 –  Historic Columbia Foundation is now accepting nominations for its 2010 Annual Preservation Awards. The awards recognize the commendable efforts of Columbia’s citizens, architects, developers, and others whose preservation projects provide the distinctive character of Columbia’s cultural landscape.  Nomination forms are due by Monday, March 1, 2010. 

Award Categories are:


Nominations in this category will be projects of historical significance restored to their original design.  An example would be a retail store, in an historic district, which continues to sell to the general public.

·Adaptive Use

Projects in this category will have been rehabilitated, while keeping many of the original elements; the structure will also incorporate new elements that will allow the structure to be used for a new function.  An example would be an old warehouse now being used as residential apartments or condominiums.

·New Construction in an Historic Context

Nominations in this category will be new buildings placed in an historic district or adjacent to historic structures that complement the historic context.

·Preservation Leadership

Nominations in this category will recognize an individual, governmental agency, and/or community or neighborhood association who contributed to the advancement of historic preservation in the region.

Nominations should be limited to recent projects (completed in the last five years) and located in Columbia and Richland County. Only completed projects will be considered. Historic Columbia Foundation will award recipients at the Annual Preservation Awards Luncheon the first week of May. To obtain a nomination form, visit or contact Katherine Murphy at (803) 252.7742 ext. 23 or   [email protected].