SC Department of Transportation Seeks Public Comment On Proposed Federal-Aid Funding Plan for Fiscal Year 2009

July 18, 2008

COLUMBIA, SC – July 18, 2008 – The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) is seeking comments from the public on a proposed Federal-Aid funding plan for Fiscal Year 2009, which begins on October 1, 2008.  This funding plan is based on an estimated allocation of $632 million. 

A copy of the chart depicting the allocation plan will be made available for public review on the world web at: and at the following locations:


South Carolina Council of Governments:

Appalachian Council of Governments

Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville,

Oconee, Pickens & Spartanburg

30 Century Circle

Greenville, SC 29606

Lower Savannah Council of Governments

Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun & Orangeburg

2748 Wagener Road

Hwy 302 North

Aiken, SC 29801
Upper Savannah Council of Governments

Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick & Saluda

222 Phoenix Street, Suite 200

Greenwood, SC 29646

Santee-Lynches Council of Governments

Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee & Sumter

36 West Liberty Street

Sumter, SC 29151
Catawba Regional Council of Governments

Chester, Lancaster, York & Union

215 Hampton Street

Second Floor

Rock Hill, SC 29731

Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments

Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion & Marlboro

2319 Regional Road

Florence, SC 29501

Central Midlands Council of Governments

Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry & Richland

236 Stoneridge Drive

Columbia, SC 29210

Lowcountry Council of Governments

Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton & Jasper

634 Campground Road

Yemassee, SC 29945

Waccamaw Regional Planning and Development Council of Governments

Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg

1230 Highmarket Street

Georgetown, SC 29440

Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments

Berkeley, Charleston & Dorchester

1362 McMillan Ave, Suite 100

North Charleston, Sc 29405

SCDDOT District Offices:

District 1

1400 Shop Road

Columbia, SC 29201


District 3

252 S. Pleasantburg Drive

Greenville, SC 29607


District 5

3018 East Palmetto

Florence, SC 29506


District 7

US Route 178 East Bowman Road

Orangeburg, SC 29116

District 2

510 W. Alexander Ave.

Greenwood, SC 29646


District 4

1232 J.A. Cochran Bypass

Chester, SC 29706


District 6

6355 Fain Blvd.

North Charleston, SC 29406


Comments will be accepted until August 16, 2008, and should be forwarded to Mr. Mark Pleasant, Statewide Planning Chief at SCDOT, 955 Park Street, P.O. Box 191, Columbia, S.C. 29202 or [email protected].