SC Philharmonic appoints new president and members to the 2021/2022 Board of Directors

November 10, 2021

The South Carolina Philharmonic is delighted to appoint a new President of the Board of Directors, and welcome four members to the 2021/2022 Board of Directors. David Turner, currently the Director of Music and Parish Engagement at Ebenezer Lutheran Church, is now serving as the SC Philharmonic’s Board President following Lynn Hodge’s tenure of service. The organization is also delighted to welcome new members Jessica Addison (Optus Bank), Michael Ferguson (Berkshire Hathaway Energy), Alexis Short (37 Gears) and Lindsey Griffin (Bank of America) to the board this season.

David Turner has been passionate about the performing arts since his first piano lesson at 6 years old and is an accomplished organist and choral director; with a degree in Organ performance and Sacred Music from Presbyterian College. David has held musical leadership positions at well-known churches throughout the state of South Carolina. He cares about sustainability for the arts as showcased by his leadership with the Greenville Symphony, Midlands Arts Conservatory, Partners in Arts in Cange, Haiti and the SC Philharmonic through Young Professional and Education targeted initiatives. Turner’s vision for the SC Phil is focused on expanding the organization’s outreach and legacy through innovative and sustainable programming, such as continued support for concert opportunities beyond the flagship Masterworks Series to attract a more diverse audience and to connect with those who are new to orchestral music. In 2019, David was recognized as one of Columbia’s Top 20 under 40 and he intends to make sure that recognition is not without merit.

The full SC Philharmonic Board roster for 21/22 is:


David Turner, President
Lynn Hodge, Immediate Past President
Josh Price, Treasurer
Juanita-Vitali Cox, Secretary
Steve Anastasion, Vice President
Rick Palyok, Vice President
Regan Voit, Vice President
Sam Waters, Vice President


Jessica Addison
Michael Ferguson
Alexis Short
Lindsey Griffin
J.B. Beckett
Mike Brenan
Mary Green Brush
Bill Danielson
Dr. Harold Friedman
Cynthia Hopkins
Rhonda Hunsinger
Chip King, Emily Luther
Dr. Gail Morrison
Morihiko Nakahara
Eleanor Niestat
Barbara Crawford
Mary Kay Nolan
Stephen Savitz
Eric Tucker
Chris Winston.

The 2021/2022 Board of Directors is already in action, supporting the SC Philharmonic’s artistic and education programs and ensuring the organization’s security as it continues to meet the challenges of live performance during a pandemic.

The South Carolina Philharmonic is committed to performing live symphonic music and providing dynamic educational opportunities in the Midlands. We carry forward a legacy of passion for the music and embrace our responsibility to be a vibrant part of the cultural fabric of our diverse community.