SCMA announces Board of Directors

April 27, 2023

Tommy Preston, Jr. to Lead South Carolina’s Premier Association for Manufacturing

The South Carolina Manufacturers Alliance (SCMA) has elected Tommy Preston, Jr., Global Vice President of Ethics of The Boeing Company, as the next chair of the organization’s Board of Directors. Tommy is the first African American to serve as Chair in the 121-year history of the organization. The election took place at SCMA’s two-day annual meeting in Charleston, South Carolina.

“I am incredibly humbled and honored to be elected chair by my industry colleagues to lead South Carolina’s premier trade association for manufacturers,” said Preston. “Growing up in South Carolina, where most of my family worked in manufacturing, I am a living example of the generational impact the industry has on our citizens. Over the years, our state’s manufacturing sector has grown exponentially and attracted many innovative companies whose investments are transforming the Palmetto State. This growth and success are directly tied to South Carolina’s outstanding business environment and the work done by the South Carolina Manufacturers Alliance to protect and advance the industry. I look forward to continuing that work as Chair.”

“This is a historic moment for the South Carolina Manufacturers Alliance as we welcome Tommy Preston as the first African American to lead our organization,” said Sara Hazzard, President and CEO of the SCMA. “While we celebrate this important milestone for SCMA, we are excited for the passion and dynamic leadership Tommy will bring. Tommy has spent his entire career being a strong advocate for our state’s manufacturing and economic development sectors and is a long supporter of our organization. His experience and knowledge are critical as we continue to provide value to our members and strengthen our state’s business-friendly environment.”

Tommy Preston is a graduate of the University of South Carolina where he earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science and a Juris Doctorate. At the University of South Carolina, Tommy served as student body president, was a Bill and Melinda Gates Millennium Scholar, and was a recipient of Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award – the highest honor awarded to a University of South Carolina student.

He began his career as an attorney at Nexsen Pruet LLC and was a part of the firm’s Economic Development, Public Policy, and Government Relations division. In 2015, Preston joined The Boeing Company as the Director of National Strategy & Engagement and was responsible for supporting a myriad of business unit programs that included the 787, Space Launch System, and Missile and Weapons Systems across multiple sites. He was promoted in 2021 to Vice President of Ethics for the company, where he leads a global team of Boeing professionals focused on strengthening Boeing’s culture of compliance and ethical behavior rooted in the company’s values.

An active member of the community and various organizations, Preston has served in numerous leadership roles for nonprofit and educational institutions. He served a two-year term as president of the university’s Alumni Association and was a voting member of the University’s Board of Trustees. He currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Charleston Wine and Food Festival and is a Liberty Fellow through the Aspen Global Leadership Network. He is also on the Board of the American Bar Endowment. Preston and his wife, Felicia, are the proud parents of their three children – Charlotte, Benjamin, and Asa.

Additional SCMA Board Members that were elected include:

Executive Committee
Chair – Tommy Preston, The Boeing Company
Immediate Past Chair – Chuck Hall, Barnet
First Vice Chair – Kevin Brown, Milliken & Company
Second Vice Chair – Grant Burns, AFL
Treasurer – Curtis Hutto, Thompson Construction Group, Inc.
Textile Council Chair – Ellis Fisher, Inman Mills

Council Chairs
Automotive Council Chair – Matthew Hamrick, Mercedes-Benz Vans
Chemistry Council Chair – Al Chatham, Elkem Silicones
Lowcountry Manufacturers Council Chair – Vince Lombardy, VTL
Tire Council Chair – Jay Spears, Continental

Terms Expiring 2024
Roger Buckley, Sonoco
Mike Callahan, Duke Energy South Carolina
John McAllister, Electrolux
Steve Merlis, Samsung
Hunter Mottel, Sleep Number
Laura Steiner, Horizon Scientific
Robert Wick, Schaeffler Group

Terms Expiring 2025
Dex Battista, Magna
Matthew Bowers, Sage Automotive Interiors
Andrew Dill, Lockheed Martin
Ron Freed, American Honda Motor Co., Inc. South Carolina Manufacturing
Keller Kissam, Dominion Energy
Jason Meredith, Continental
Michael Tschantz, Ingevity

Terms Expiring 2026
Scott Craig, JTEKT
Cameron Hamrick, Hamrick Mills
Mike Lee, Nucor Steel Berkeley
Jann Moore, Caterpillar Inc.
Dan Royston, A.O. Smith
Will Whitley, Michelin
Katie Yehl, Volvo Cars

Ex Officio
SC Future Makers Chair – Sidney Locke, Sage Automotive Interiors


South Carolina Manufacturers Alliance

The South Carolina Manufacturers Alliance is the only statewide organization dedicated exclusively to the interests of manufacturers. Its mission is to strengthen and advance South Carolina manufacturing by advocating for our members, fostering a world-class workforce, and bringing together manufacturers to connect, share, and solve industry challenges. The SCMA membership is comprised of more than 200 manufacturing companies that represent more than 100,000 associates in South Carolina.