Seven local school board members recognized for reaching highest SCSBA training level

February 22, 2023

Seven board members hailing from seven different school districts across the state have earned Level Six recognition in the Boardmanship Institute (BI) sponsored by the South Carolina School Boards Association (SCSBA). It is the highest level of distinction for school board training.

Board members Rosey Anderson of Barnwell School District 45; Beverly Bonaparte of Bamberg County School District; Idella Carson of Orangeburg County School District; Anne Marie Green of Lexington County School District One; Christina Gwozdz of Beaufort County School District; Maria-Helena Miller of Rock Hill Schools (York Three); and Kristy Spears of Fort Mill Schools (York Four) received a Level Six pin and plaque at SCSBA’s Annual Convention held Feb. 17-19 in Hilton Head.

Established in May 1982, SCSBA’s BI offers a year-round training program to help school board members better understand and more effectively act upon issues related to governance for their local schools. Training is required by state law only for new school board members.

The South Carolina School Boards Association is a non-profit organization serving as a statewide voice for boards governing the state’s 73 school districts.