South Carolina Restaurant and Lodging Association announces 2022 Stars of the industry winners and runners up

February 23, 2022

The South Carolina Restaurant and Lodging Association (SCRLA) hosted its 69th Annual Stars of South Carolina Hospitality Awards Gala on February 21 at 1881 Event Hall in Spartanburg.

The Stars of South Carolina Hospitality Industry Awards celebrate the exceptional professionalism and outstanding service of top individuals in the hospitality industry. These individuals go above and beyond to contribute to the positive image of the hospitality industry while also being confronted with supply and labor shortages.

Click here to view photos from the event.

This year’s Community-Based Award winners include:

Hospitality Educator of the Year

  • Bill Twaler, Truist Culinary & Hospitality Innovation Center
Hospitality Supplier of the Year
  • SpotOn
Outstanding Community Service Program (<5 locations)
  • Haydn Shaak, Restaurant 17 and Hotel Domestique
Outstanding Community Service Program (>5 locations)
  • SERG Restaurant Group
Outstanding Community Event
Midlands Area Vaccination Clinic for Hospitality Employees
  • Blue Marlin
  • Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center
  • Lovelace Family Medicine, P.A.
Rising Star
  • Qiah Hernandez-Rivera, Lazy Goat/Table 301 Apprentice


This year’s Stars of the Industry winners and runners-up include:

Hotelier of the Year

  • Yatish Patel, Sycamore Investment Group
  • Runner Up: Jason Price, Pinnacle Partnership
Lodging Manager of the Year
  • Jana Medlin, Wingate by Wyndham Columbia/Lexington
  • Runner Up: Chris Osborne, Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Golf Resort & Conference Center
Lodging Front of House Employee of the Year
  • Delphine Holden, Hampton Inn Georgetown Marina
  • Runner Up: Bryan Hernandez, Wentworth Mansion
Lodging Heart of House Employee of the Year
  • Rosa Fonseca, Sheraton Myrtle Beach
  • Runner Up: Telly West, North Charleston Marriott
Hotel Chef of the Year
  • Fernando Coppola, AC by Marriott Hotel Greenville
Restaurateur of the Year
  • Bob Munnich, Dray Bar and Grill & 1800 Drayton Catering and Events
  • Runner Up: Michael Ivey, Rick Erwin Dining Group
Restaurant Manager of the Year
  • Natasha Cline, Uncork Charleston
  • Runner Up: Lucas Haramut, Soby’s New South Cuisine
Restaurant Front of House Employee of the Year
  • Nichelle Torres, Rick Erwin Dining Group
  • Runner Up: Sydney Lopez, Market on Main
Restaurant Heart of House Employee of the Year
  • Tierra Locklear, Greenville Country Club
  • Runner Up: James Glenn, Hilton Greenville
Restaurant Bartender of the Year
  • Ben Fleming, Heirloom – A Milltown Eatery
  • Runner Up: Kelsey Bundy, Market on Main
Restaurant Chef of the Year
  • Adam Cooke, Topsoil Restaurant
  • Runner Up:  Robin Hinton, Lucy Buffet’s LuLu’s North Myrtle Beach
Outstanding Certified Sommelier
  • Hernan Martinez, Hampton Street Vineyard
  • Runner Up: Tori Whittenberg, Ruth’s Chris Steak House


About the South Carolina Restaurant and Lodging Association

For more than 75 years, the SCRLA’s mission has been to promote, protect and educate the foodservice and lodging industries of our state and to ensure positive business growth for our members. The SCRLA strives to represent the best interests of its members on small business issues, hospitality and tourism concerns and towards the protection of South Carolina’s quality of life.