Spartanburg Mayors Committee for People with Disabilities selects new officers

July 7, 2020

Donald Davis was re-elected co-chairman of the Spartanburg Mayors Committee for People with Disabilities. He will be joined by Dr. Page McCraw as the new co-chair, and Nikoya Shaw will continue as treasurer. The election of a new secretary is pending.

The Mayors Committee hosts the Annual Walk and Roll, an event that drew more than 600 people to downtown Spartanburg last year. The Walk and Roll celebrates the contributions of workers with disabilities and emphasizes the importance of ensuring that all Americans have access to the services that enable them to work.

The committee also recognizes local employers and people who are disabled for their employment accomplishments. Current committee projects include working to improve parking for people who are disabled, increasing accessible recreational areas, and adding wheelchair charging stations to public buildings.

The mission of the committee is to improve the quality of life for people with disabilities in Spartanburg County in the areas of transportation, employment, housing, recreation, education, healthcare, and environment. Its membership of local leaders, individuals with disabilities, businesses, advocacy groups, and supporting organizations works to ensure that Spartanburg’s residents with disabilities have the same opportunities for quality of life as others. The Mayors Committee has been active since 2005 with the support of then Mayor William Barnet and continues to be part of Mayor Junie White’s administration.


Donald Davis , Nikoya Shaw, Dr. Page McCraw