Spotlight on Agriculture 2022 Awards Dinner Held

March 14, 2022

Last week“who’s who” of agriculture came out for the 48th Annual Spotlight on Agriculture. The event was held at First Presbyterian Church, and it was a packed house.

The event was started in in 1974 by Marett L. Outz, former Laurens County Extension Agent. The focus of the event is to recognize and celebrate the local farmers and their families for their contributions to the county.  The annual event is presented by Clemson University Extension Advisory Committee of Laurens County.

The evening included time visiting vendor booths, a dinner provided by Shealy’s Barbeque, entertainment by Wayne Garber and Jason Parsons and the main event, the presentation of awards.

Winners of this year’s awards include:

Outstanding Laurens County 4-H Senior Candidate:

Andrew Jewell and Olivia Lyda

Outstanding Laurens County 4-H Junior Candidate:

Brooklyn New, Eliza Pearl Terry, and Drew Walker

Laurens District 55 High School Outstanding FFA Member of the Year

Hayden McHone

Clinton High School Outstanding FFA Member of the Year

Hannah Nelson and Gray Gardner

Laurens County Clemson Extension Advisory Council Scholarship Winner

Julia Motes

Laurens County Friends of FFA/4-H Award

Davis Gibbs

Laurens County Woodlands Manager of the Year

Alvin Feltman

Laurens County Outstanding Cattleman of the Year

Wes Knight

Laurens County Outstanding Broiler Producer of the Year

Tommy Holsonback

Laurens County Outstanding Dairyman of the Year

Amber Ettinger

ML Outz Memorial Outstanding Extension Supporter of the Year

Reed Edwards

Laurens County Special Commodity Producer

Jeff and Beth Linville

Laurens County Farm Family of the Year

Margie Levine

Laurens County Agriculturist of the Year

Thomas B. Huffman

It was a great event. Check it out in the pictures below.