Sustain SC announced new Executive Committee and Board Members

January 17, 2024

Sustain SC, an economic development-driven organization connecting the sustainability goals of business in South Carolina with local solutions, announced its 2024 Board of Directors with a new Chair and two new members.

After previously serving as Vice Chair, Hope Lanier Freeman, Director of Communications and External Affairs at bp, was appointed as Chair of the 2024 Board of Directors. She will be joined on the executive committee by Vice Chair Dale Threatt-Taylor of The Nature Conservancy, Treasurer Danny Kassis of Dominion Energy, Secretary Trip Chavis of Milliken Advisors and Past Chair Tom Hutto of GEL Engineering.

The Board is pleased to welcome two new at-large members John Lummus and John Boyd.

Lummus, who serves as president and CEO of Upstate Alliance, brings his extensive background in economic development to the Sustain SC Board of Directors. Boyd, who chairs Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd’s Environmental Group, has a background in the areas of environmental, regulatory, administrative and general corporate law.

“We are thrilled to welcome these business leaders to Sustain SC’s Board of Directors,” said Hope Lanier Freeman, Chair of Sustain SC. “With their expertise and passion, our board is poised to steer Sustain SC toward new heights and foster sustainable solutions for South Carolina at the intersection of commerce and conservation.”

The addition of Lummus and Boyd to the Board of Directors underscores Sustain SC’s commitment to assembling an influential team to lead the way in creating a more sustainable future for South Carolina.

The 2024-2025 Sustain SC Board of Directors:


Hope Lanier FreemanChair, BP America

Dale Threatt-TaylorVice Chair, The Nature Conservancy

Danny Kassis, Treasurer, Dominion Energy

Trip ChavisSecretary, Milliken Advisors

Tom HuttoPast Chair, GEL Engineering


John Boyd, 
Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd

Sara Hazzard, South Carolina Manufacturers Alliance

Lilyn Hester, Google

Lindsay Leonard, Boeing

John Lummus, Upstate SC Alliance

Chris Muckenfuss, Weyerhaeuser


Shannon Bobertz, 
South Carolina Department of Natural Resources

Sean Connolly, SC Department of Transportation

Anna DeLage, SC Department of Commerce

Ben Duncan, SC Office of Resilience

Clint Leach, SC Department of Agriculture

Kristy Ellenberg, SC Department of Health and Environmental Control

Ethel Bunch, Founder, Sustain SC


About Sustain SC

Sustain SC is an economic development-driven organization that connects the sustainability goals of business in South Carolina with local solutions for the benefit of our economy, environment, and people.