Suzette Surkamer Elected President of the National Assembly of State Arts Agencies

November 20, 2009

COLUMBIA, SC – November 20, 2009 – The National Assembly of State Arts Agencies elected Suzette Surkamer as president during its annual business meeting on Nov. 6. Surkamer retired as executive director of the S.C. Arts Commission in May 2009.   

Surkamer is esteemed for her leadership in the arts, having served on numerous state, regional and national boards and alliances. In 2008, she was recognized by NASAA with the Gary Young Award, given for exemplary leadership, innovative thinking, enduring commitment to public support for the arts and dedication to diverse artistic expression.

Guided by Surkamer’s vision, the S.C. Arts Commission achieved success and national recognition in areas such as arts education reform, arts advocacy and public participation. Prior to becoming executive director in 1994, she served as deputy director (1988-1994), arts development division director (1978-1988), arts coordinator (1977-1978) and dancer in residence (1974-1977).

The National Assembly of State Arts Agencies (NASAA) is the membership organization of the nation’s state and jurisdictional arts agencies. The public sector plays a unique and essential role in ensuring that the benefits of the arts accrue to all American communities. State arts agencies broaden citizen access to the arts in every corner of the country, making the cultural, civic, educational and economic benefits of the arts an essential ingredient of state policy and practice. Visit for more information.

About SCAC:
The South Carolina Arts Commission is the state agency charged with creating a thriving arts environment that benefits all South Carolinians, regardless of their location or circumstances. Created by the South Carolina General Assembly in 1967, the Arts Commission is working to increase public participation in the arts by providing services, grants and leadership initiatives in three areas: arts education, community arts development and artist development. Headquartered in Columbia, S.C., the Arts Commission is funded by the state of South Carolina and by the federal government through the National Endowment for the Arts.

For more information, visit or call (803) 734-8696.