The SC Philharmonic returns with Appalachian Spring streaming concert

November 12, 2020

We present a free streaming concert and launch our upcoming Philharmonic Live Series

The SC Philharmonic returns to the Koger Center stage with a free virtual stream of Appalachian Spring Friday, November 20 at 7:30 PM. This is the first time the orchestra will be back together since its last concert on March 14, 2020. This performance is closed to the public, but will be available for free stream on the SC Philharmonic YouTube channel. The livestream and streaming to Prisma Health facilities is made possible by support from Aflac.

Concert Program:

Dick Goodwin: Dessau Dances
William Grant Still: Serenade
Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring

The program opens with a piece by South Carolina composer, Dick Goodwin, a well-known jazz and big band performer in the Midlands, followed by Serenade by William Grant Sill who was often referred to as “The Dean of African-American composers.” The performance closes with the beloved Appalachian Spring Suite by Aaron Copland, which showcases the theme “Tis a gift to be simple” – perfect for the upcoming Thanksgiving season.

The SC Philharmonic returns to the concert hall with the orchestra’s innovative upcoming season – The Philharmonic Live Series – that begins January 2020. The Philharmonic worked closely with the Koger Center for the Arts to develop a socially distanced seating chart and comprehensive safety policies including a mask requirement. Each concert starting in January will have an in-person and livestream option for patrons to enjoy the Philharmonic however they feel most comfortable.

The Philharmonic Live Series features contemporary American guest artists and composers such as Marina Lomazov and Joseph Rackers on piano, Carolyn Munford on harp, and composers Jessie Montgomery, Reena Esmail, James Lee III, Dick Goodwin and more.

The five Philharmonic Live concerts are:

Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings – January 16, 2021
Beethoven & Blue Jeans – April 24, 2021
Mozart’s Jupiter Symphony – February 6, 2021
Concerto for Two Pianos – June 12, 2021
Bach and Stravinsky – March 20, 2021

About the S.C. Philharmonic

The South Carolina Philharmonic is committed to performing live symphonic music and providing dynamic educational opportunities in the Midlands. We carry forward a legacy of passion for the music and embrace our responsibility to be a vibrant part of the cultural fabric of our diverse community.

For more information about the South Carolina Philharmonic, please visit or follow on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.